Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Bosque County will offer three accredited Food Handlers courses to help food retail locations meet the requirements of the Texas Food Establishment Rules.
- Monday, January 9, 2017, at the Meridian Civic Center, 9:00-11:00AM
- Monday, March 6, 2017, at the Clifton Civic Center, 9:00-11:00AM
- Monday, May 8, 2017, at the Meridian Civic Center, 9:00-11:00AM
The Texas Food Establishment Rules are in place to safeguard public health and provide consumers food that is safe and honestly presented. All food retail establishments in Texas are required to follow these rules, including recent revisions went into effect on October 1, 2015.
A major change in the revision rules is a requirement that all food employees must complete an accredited food handlers training program within 60 days of employment, effective September 1, 2016. The Food Handler’s Certificate is also required for anyone who wishes to sell food under the Cottage Food Law.
During the two-hour course, participants will learn food safety practices such as personal hygiene, cross contamination, and time and temperature control. Following completion of the course, participants will receive a Food Handler’s Certificate that is good for two years and valid anywhere in the State of Texas.
To register for the course, contact the Extension Office at 254-435-2331 or complete the form below. The cost is $20 per person. The class is taught in English but Spanish handouts are available, if requested in advance. For more information, contact Kate Whitney at the Extension Office or by email at email@example.com.